Author Topic: Need suggestion about data acquisition via USB  (Read 9259 times)

xihad

Need suggestion about data acquisition via USB
« on: March 19, 2012, 06:09:40 am »
Hi Jan,

For one of my projects i need to transfer 2000 bytes of data in 40 microsecond guaranteed time interval. As i m a complete newbie with USB interfacing, can you please suggest me a possible combination of Micro controller and USB data transfer type i should use to accomplish the desired data acquisition.

Thanks in advance. take care.

Zihad

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Need suggestion about data acquisition via USB
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 10:17:41 am »
2000 bytes / 0.000040 sec = 50 MBytes/sec.

SuperSpeed isochronous transfers can do this but don't provide error-checking.

High speed is 480 Mbits/sec, which works out to 60 MBytes/sec, but the maximum data throughput is lower due to addressing, error-checking bits, etc. 

Compressing the data before sending is one way to reduce the amount of data to send.

Jan

xihad

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 11:06:02 am »
HI Jan,

Thank you very much for the response! In my previous post i actually made a mistake . I actually tried to mean i need to acquire total 2000 bytes of data at a rate of 1byte per 40 micro second.
Also can you please suggest me any micro-controller which would be useful in that case? really appreciate your help. Thanks!

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2012, 11:43:24 am »
A high-speed interrupt endpoint can do this.

If you don't want to provide a host driver, take a look at HID:

www.lvr.com/hidpage.htm

or WinUSB:

http://www.lvr.com/winusb.htm

Some things that can affect throughput are the size of the data packets and the length of the transfer (whether each transfer is a single byte or multiple bytes).