Author Topic: usbhidio vb6 version in C# is not working  (Read 10498 times)

srini

usbhidio vb6 version in C# is not working
« on: May 05, 2011, 10:38:30 pm »
Hello,
    Thank you John for directing me to this Portal.

I am pretty new to the USB development. I am trying to read (no writing to the device) the data from a device connected through USB. When I try VB6 version of the  USBHIDIO, it is working fine and returning the values for the API calls (Usage & USage Page) properly.
    When I tried usbhidio_V2.3.cs, my device is detected properly with VID & PID. Since I don't have anything to write to the device, I passed reportID for  inFeatureReportBuffer[0] to read the values in ExchangeFeatureReports() method. It is returning Byte Array when I select the Exchafeature reports Raadio button on the UI & click on the cmdOnce button on the UI.
          I know, these are HEX bytes, the first returned value is ReportID, when I convert the 2nd value, some of my device's values are correct, but most of them are not. I don't know, what the rest of the elements represent.

Since, the VB6 version worked perfectly well, I am wondering if anyone has the same solution in .NET, some of the hid.dll's functions are missing in HIDDeclarations.cs when I compared it with Apideclarations.bas. I am not sure, if they are missing, OR they are not available in .NET API.
   I hope, I explained my problem correct, please feel free to post your questions, if it is not clear.

Thank you in advance
Srini

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: usbhidio vb6 version in C# is not working
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 11:22:47 pm »
The application can read Feature reports but the data isn't what you expected to receive?

What do you expect to receive and what do you actually receive?

Using the VB6 application, you can read Feature reports and get the expected data?

Jan

srini

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2011, 01:29:36 pm »
Thank you for the reply Jan.