Author Topic: Testing USB detecting code  (Read 10505 times)

pgscannell

Testing USB detecting code
« on: December 17, 2010, 10:35:20 am »
I am new to USB development.  I just bought the "USB Complete Fourth Edition: The Developer's Guide" by Jan Axelson.

I downloaded the sample program Generic HID Tester.  I was able to successfully compile and run it in VS 2008.

I ran the Microsoft utility USBView and saw a mapping of all my USB connections on my PC to include the Vendor and Product ID's of each.

When I enter those IDs into the HID Tester and click "Find My Device", it always return "Device not found"

Why?

Thanks in advanced,

Paul Scannell

[attachment deleted by admin]

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Testing USB detecting code
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 10:43:00 am »
My generic HID applications are for generic (not system mouse or keyboard) HID-class devices only. My HID page has links to generic HID firmware that works with the applications.

To communicate with non-HIDs, see the first questions here:

http://www.lvr.com/usbfaq.htm

Jan

pgscannell

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2010, 11:48:30 am »
Would it be a wrong presumption of mine, to assume that a connected document scanner, flash drive, or digital camera, wouldn't be considered an HID device?

If so, then what kind of USB device can I connect to my PC so that program can detect it?

Thanks,
Paul

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2010, 11:52:25 am »
Scanners are still image class. Flash drives and most cameras are mass storage class. My HID page has links to generic HID firmware that works with the generic HID host applications. The generic HID software is meant for communicating with devices that have vendor-defined functions.

Jan

pgscannell

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2010, 12:08:51 pm »