Author Topic: Serial Port on LAN PC data to/from Web Server  (Read 16636 times)

Parappa

Serial Port on LAN PC data to/from Web Server
« on: November 03, 2010, 12:15:12 am »
Hi all,

I am new to this forum :)

If anyone can help I would be very grateful.

I would like t work out how to control a device which is connected to the Serial Port my PC (running XP) from a NAS based Web Server on the the same LAN.

The idea is to have a web page being served on my NAS Web Server that has a simple page with a few radio buttons that when pressed will turn on/off whatever is connected to my XP PC.

At the moment I have managed to get a PIC to talk to my PC - this was a really big achievement for me as I am not a software/hardware professional and I have limited experience with these things.

I can use Telnet on the XP machine to turn on and off a LED via the PIC which is connected to the Serial Port. Another example would be to get the PIC to send simple data like temperature to the Web page just for fun.

I am really excited that I have started this hobby and really want to improve and be able to do more simple things like this. It is my hope that I can improve and enjoy this new hobby. But I am finding that stuff like PHP and Visual Basic is way outside of my abilities at this stage so I consider myself as a total beginner. The learning curve is very steep and trying to figure these things out on my own is not proving to be very productive...(spent days trying to write a VB app to read and send serial port and ended up getting nowhere!).

Any help is really appreciated!

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Serial Port on LAN PC data to/from Web Server
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2010, 08:46:52 am »
Take a look at the Lantronix Device Server and other serial servers. I have links here:

http://www.janaxelson.com/ethernet.htm

Jan
« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 09:49:04 am by Jan Axelson »

Parappa