Author Topic: Device Notify Host App  (Read 13742 times)

Babu

Device Notify Host App
« on: March 23, 2015, 01:38:14 pm »
I'm very new to the driver development.

I'm developing a HID device which has say only one switch. And a host application for the same device.

I can continuously poll for the state of the device using HID_GetInputReport.

Instead how can I make whenever there is a change in the device ( switch on/off ), the driver should inform my host application.

How can my host application register for the notifications?

How to make my driver to notify the host application ( like sending the notification along with the data )?

Can we use RAWINPUT mechanism in windows? Does it work only for mice,keyboard or for any device?

If you can provide some link for the sample apps it will be great.

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Device Notify Host App
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 04:59:58 pm »
My HID page has example code that uses a different thread to poll for received data and notify the main application when new data is available:

http://janaxelson.com/hidpage.htm#MyExampleCode

Babu

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2015, 05:17:11 pm »
Hi Jan
Thanks for your reply.
Can you let me know which sample code should I look for? Is it generic_hid_cs_62
I would like to know how are you broadcasting the data from the device to OS which in turn can notify the host app using WM_INPUT messages.

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 08:33:17 pm »
Yes. The device sends data in interrupt IN transfers.

In my example, cmdGetInputReportInterrupt_Click calls the async routine RequestToGetInputReport, which waits until data is available or a timeout. You don't have to use a click event to request the data. Any routine could call RequestToGetInputReport. Because RequestToGetInputReport is async, the application can do other work while waiting.