Author Topic: About EP address and enumeration  (Read 8280 times)

turboscrew

About EP address and enumeration
« on: January 10, 2014, 03:29:57 am »
As a total newbie in the USB-world, I couldn't figure out how a device with multiple interfaces is enumerated.

The thing is, what are the scopes where EP number and EP address are unique?

Are the EPs device specific, interface specific or bus (controller) specific?
And how about the EP addresses?

I'm trying to put together a Remote NDIS host, and I wonder if the port numbering (and addresses) are continuing from
the control interface to data interface, or do both interfaces have EP zero and/or EP address zero?

How about if there's a HUB?
If each device has an address zero, does that mean that a physical bus (if HUB is considered to connect physical buses into a logical one) there can only be one device, or how does the host tell to a device (for descriptor request) that it is the one being addressed?

Barry Twycross

• Frequent Contributor
Re: About EP address and enumeration
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 01:45:38 pm »
Each device has a set of endpoint addresses. Endpoints are addressed by number *AND* direction. (That "and" catches a lot of people out.) So every device can have the endpoints:

0-15 IN

and

0-15 OUT

Control endpoints are special cases. They take a pair of endpoints of the same number, so control endpoint 13 uses both 13-IN and 13-OUT. The default end point is control endpoint zero. (So uses zero-IN and zero-OUT.) There is one default endpoint per device. This endpoint can be used by the device and by all interfaces in the device. Control requests are addressed to the particular part of the device by the bmRequestType field of the SETUP packet. In effect each interface also includes endpoint zero.