Author Topic: RS232 timing /write / buffering inside - DataReceived Event  (Read 16912 times)

LiamC

RS232 timing /write / buffering inside - DataReceived Event
« on: September 24, 2013, 05:38:10 am »
Hello to all users  :)

I’m presently coding an application in VB.NET (VS 2010 Express on the laptop) with different parts/functions. I have to tell that I’m not an expert in neither VB or .Net  But I’ve been busy on that issue for some time now. I’m trying to achieve the following:

-   Send commands (string) to a Newport controller through RS232 (which in turn, drives a 2 axis-motor to rotate an item placed on these axis). For example the command to move the axis n°1 to the position “20 degrees” will look like : “1PA20” (ie: axis1-Position Absolute-20°)

-   Once one movement of these 2 axis is finished, the controller sends back an answer to the first command string (ie: position, state of the motor, state of the movement: finished or running)

-   After verifying the state of the rotating axis (it has a “1” at the end of the return string when it has stopped), I’m running an image processing thread (backgroundworker for the image Processing and UI thread for the Serialport stuff) which acquires images from CCDs cameras and processes them.

-   The sequence detailed above happens 50 times (ie: 50 positions coordinates for the 2 axis, and the respective 50 images acquisitions after each and every position).

Now, that the context is explained, here is the problem:

For the moment I’m using ReadExisting() which maybe isn’t the best answer to my subject. From time to time, I’m having a timing issue with the Data Received Event of the Serialport class: he seems to fire too quickly and during acquisition of let’s say position n°6, the axis rotates to position n°7 (even though the thread is not the same).  As he does it faster than usual, I thought of a buffer issue with some remaining data in it.