Author Topic: Verification USB2.0 & USB3.0  (Read 12273 times)

winsonlcc

Verification USB2.0 & USB3.0
« on: August 16, 2012, 11:49:31 pm »
Hi,

I'm new at here. Not sure it is a correct place to ask the question below.
I'm a developer for testing HDD by using C++ in Linux environement.
The HDD is attach with USB3.0 interpose card which can support USB2.0 & 3.0 speed.
But we found out some of the interpose card failure which only can support thru USB2.0. We don't want to ship the part to customer only support USB2.0 although the label is show USB3.0 compliance.

It there any simple C++ command code to verify the USB device to check whther it support USB2.0 and USB3.0?
What the command code i need to use in libusb library?

Thanks and your help is very much appreciate.

Regards,
Winson

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Verification USB2.0 & USB3.0
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2012, 08:46:47 pm »
By "interpose card," do you mean USB 3.0 interface card inside the PC?

If so, are you saying that when you attach USB 3.0 drives to ports on some USB interface cards, the drives only operate at high speed (USB 2.0)?

If so, are these cards sold as USB 3.0 cards or do you want to know how to tell if any USB port supports USB 3.0?

What OS?

winsonlcc

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2012, 09:34:13 pm »
HI Jan,

Thanks for the reply.
Let me explain the problem.
We are doing harddisk screening. The interface for the harddisk is SATA. The drive is use for external storage for USB3.0. So the USB3.0 connector is attach with harddisk PCBA board. That mean from SATA convert to USB3.0.

So when we want to test the drive, we will plug in the USB3.0 cable for test. The problem is some of the connector having some problem only can go to USB2.0 speed. So we would need to write a simple C code to check whether it can support up to USB3.0 or not in Redhat/fedora OS. Those cannot support USB3.0 speed will reject the HDD.