Author Topic: How to resume USB after suspend  (Read 5100 times)

david.dobsky

How to resume USB after suspend
« on: April 30, 2020, 04:14:14 pm »
Hello,

I am completely new to USB development.

We are trying to develop a HID based full speed device and are using a Microchip PIC32MZ part for the device along with their "Embedded Connectivity Starter Kit".  We have started with the Microchip "hid_basic" demo code and can send and receive data fine using a modified version of the "Generic HID Tester" code.  The main issue we have now is that the device will go into suspend as indicated by onboard LEDs when there is no bus activity.  Communication after that will not occur unless the device cable is unplugged and plugged back in. 

I have read about the resume signals that are sent from the host to get a device back into a normal mode and have looked at the USB specification concerning this.  My question is what command does the host program need to send to the device so it can see the resume signal and start normal operations?

Any suggestions or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: How to resume USB after suspend
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2020, 05:45:48 pm »
Can your host software send periodic control requests (Input, Output, or Feature reports)? And if so, does that keep the device from suspending?

Even if the device is suspended, sending a request should wake it.

The host isn't polling for Input reports?

david.dobsky

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2020, 07:58:33 am »