Author Topic: Multiple Links - Same Serial Port - Possible?  (Read 13826 times)

RocketMan

Multiple Links - Same Serial Port - Possible?
« on: November 04, 2010, 09:41:03 pm »
Forgive the newbie question...  I'm new to digital interfacing.   ;D

I want to put together a system that communicates serially through both a radio-modem link and an RS-485 cable link.  I would *like* to be able to connect both interfaces to the same serial port, but I'm concerned that one will interfere with the other.  If serial data from both the wire link and the wireless link are received at the same time, I'm guessing that the data to the serial port will become garbled...

Since I only have one serial port to play with, I need a little more versatility.

Is there a way to allow two interface devices to share the same serial port?  I would *really* like to be able to send the data out on both links simultaneously, but need a way to keep the received data from colliding.

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Multiple Links - Same Serial Port - Possible?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2010, 09:26:07 am »
RS-485 is intended for multiple-node serial networks. The network must support a protocol that tells each node when it can transmit and when to ignore or accept received data.

Other options are to add another serial port, a USB virtual COM port, or a serial/Ethernet bridge.

RS-485 info
http://www.janaxelson.com/serport.htm#articles

serial/Ethernet bridges
http://www.janaxelson.com/ethernet.htm

Jan
« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 09:49:34 am by Jan Axelson »

RocketMan

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2010, 06:12:34 pm »
Sorry - I don't think I made my intentions clear...