Author Topic: Adjustable slew rate?  (Read 11958 times)

ruutboy

Adjustable slew rate?
« on: November 24, 2013, 11:01:41 am »
I work as a Controls Engineer for GM, and we have a ton of ill-behaving DeviceNet networks. If it isn't the voltage giving us trouble, it's a "hi-z" connection (high being relative here), or in a recent episode, water being run *through* the panel. (Hard to blame DeviceNet on that, but getting the new ADN set up in RSNetworx was  a bear).

But one of design flaws of the system is the set slew rate of the RS485 chips. At 250k baud it doesn't need to be so stiff.

So why can't I put a tiny RC network at each transmitter to relax things a bit? Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Adjustable slew rate?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2013, 01:18:04 pm »
Maxim has chips with slower slew rates. See:

http://www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/367

ruutboy

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2013, 04:57:41 pm »
Hi Jan,

Thanks for the response. Unfortunately these are already in equipment such as I/O Safety blocks (no modding these, the Safety Police will be after me), Turck (yes, spelled correctly. And embedded in epoxy, so likewise...), ADN modules (could be modded I suppose, but it would have to be a pin for pin match), Siemens SST blocks (could be done as well I suppose), and various VFDs.

According to my partner, we have over 300 DeviceNet networks. Each having anywhere from 2 to 20 blocks on them. A lot of chips... :)

DeviceNet, is on its way out (no doubt its incredibly poor performance and reliability had something to do with it). But we are stuck with them for the foreseeable future. We have already installed split resistor terminators with a cap tied to ground. This helped, but there is still a long ways to go. Coupled with that is less and less companies are supporting DeviceNet, so "store-bought" solutions are becoming rarer as well.