Author Topic: I am missing something, I know it!  (Read 9304 times)

st2000

I am missing something, I know it!
« on: September 09, 2010, 06:05:19 pm »
Hi...

I confess:  I'm new to USB (I've done the Microchip USB peripheral class if that counts!).  And I'm really new to USB host coding. [Note, I do have a brand new copy of Jan's book!  So I am set for any of this "Look on page 256 before you ask that again!".]

Where I'm at:  I have the Microchip Explorer16 board running Microchip's USB thumb drive host demo code (yea!). And I have been able to transplant that code onto our hardware platform to repeat the feet (yea again!).  But I think this is simple stuff (mainly because it's "canned" software that doesn't need much "massaging").

There is a media player on the horizon.  We would like to send it new media from time to time but expect it to store files locally like a mass storage device.  We would also like to control it.  Simple commands like "start playing file <name>", "stop" and "are you done yet?".  So we are thinking "let's put a USB interface on it"!  But what will this device look like?  Will it look like a mass storage device?  Or like some sort of HID.  Remember, we want to not only load it up with media but also control it.  Maybe it needs to be a "compound device".  Or maybe we can do all that control stuff and stay inside the definition of a mass storage device.

This is what I am missing, the knowledge needed to ask this question in the right manner.  I am sure a USB interface can do all this and more.  But I am not sure how to go about building the device and programming the host to do it.

Any suggestions which way to go from here would really be appreciated.

-thanks
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 06:07:13 pm by st2000 »

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: I am missing something, I know it!
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2010, 10:21:21 pm »