Author Topic: UHCI Port reset  (Read 12456 times)

Sauro

UHCI Port reset
« on: March 28, 2013, 12:30:55 pm »
HI,
I have a strange problem with a usb device
I'm a assembly programmer , these days I was writing a driver for the  full/low speed devices. (UHCI)
I own 10 devices, all work fine except for one device, which shows problems when I do a port reset. I use the classic sequence:
Wait the device is connected
Wait 400ms (Debounce for my USB Bluetooth device)
Port Reset 10ms
Recovery 10ms
Enable port.
Get Descriptor and so on ...
Ok, this sequence is perfect with all the devices, but one in particular (USB Mass Storage) only works if I do not do a Port Reset.
If I do a port reset, the device dies and I do not know how to resurrect :-)
This device has a red LED, which turns off after a port reset and the device no longer works.
Without a port reset, the device works perfectly.
Any ideas ?

Bret

• Frequent Contributor
Re: UHCI Port reset
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 05:33:31 pm »
According to section 10.2.8.1 of the USB 1.1 specification:

Section 7.1.7.3 describes the requirements of a hub to ensure all upstream resume attempts are overpowered with a long reset downstream. Root hubs may provide an aggregate reset period of at least 50ms. If the reset duration is controlled in hardware and the hardware timer is <50ms, the USB System can issue several consecutive resets to accumulate a sufficiently long reset to the device.

Don't know if it's your problem or not, but a reset on a root hub should last at least 50 ms, not just 10.  Here's the sequence I use, and haven't had a problem with devices not resetting properly (but maybe I just haven't run across the correct device yet):

Clear Port Enable Bit
Wait 100 microseconds
Verify Port Enable Bit is Clear, Exit if not
Set Port Reset Bit
Wait 100 microseconds
Verify Port Reset Bit is Set, Exit if not
Wait a minimum of 50 milliseconds
Clear Port Reset Bit
Wait 100 microseconds