Author Topic: Plotting data from USB  (Read 12602 times)

Palito

Plotting data from USB
« on: September 28, 2012, 03:18:37 pm »
Hello there. I'm a newbie in the forum, and I have a simple question (but with a hard solution, I think).

I have a little project, and in this project I'm sending data via USB to the PC (with bulk transfer). Data is digital signals like a sine, triangle, etc., with 16 bits. I want to plot these signals in the PC like in an oscilloscope.

So, my question is: Is there an fast way for this?? I suposse I can make a program, but it could be very long (I have never program a GUI, just with Matlab), I need something faster. I thought about Matlab, it could be very interesting, but I have been reading about this and I think it's not possible to read data directly from an USB.

Thanks for the help  :)  :)

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
Re: Plotting data from USB
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 10:47:38 pm »
I'm not familiar with Matlab programming, but it's likely there is some way to import data to an application. 

You might also take a look at:

http://www.programminghelp.com/web-development/asp-net/install-and-use-microsoft-chart-controls-to-render-a-graph-from-data-table-in-c/

If you need to transfer data from one application (that gets the data from the USB device) to another (that plots the data), see:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa365574%28VS.85%29.aspx

Palito

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2012, 05:07:15 am »
Hello Jan, thanks for the suggestion. Your idea could be good, but in that case I need two separate applications: the first to get the data via USB, and the second to plot the data. It could mean a big delay, and I think the main problem it's to get the data via USB.

Jan Axelson

• Administrator
  • Frequent Contributor
    • Lakeview Research
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2012, 11:30:33 am »