Author Topic: Is Microsoft's WinUSB driver slower than its HID driver for the same HID device?  (Read 8835 times)

redrock

I am a USB newbie attempting to read data from a Logitech gamepad HID device. Of course, if I wanted to use this device in a real project I would simply use DirectInput, but I am trying to learn about USB host-side programming by reading data from this gamepad.

I have coded up two solutions to read data from this device, one using HIDAPI and one using WinUSB, both in native code. HIDAPI in Windows is essentially c code wrapping all the necessary SetupDi_, HidD_, and HidP_ Win32 functions. I am also timing my access to the device's input data in both solutions using the Win32 'QueryPerformanceCounter()' function. In my HIDAPI solution, I time the 'ReadFile()' function, which I believe is performing the actual interrupt transfer. In my WinUSB solution, I time the 'WinUsb_ReadPipe()' function, which I believe performs the interrupt transfer in WinUSB land.

When I plug in the gamepad device, Windows chooses the 'hidclass.sys' driver (as reported in the device manager). Using my HIDAPI solution, I get back the gamepad data using this driver at an average rate of around 0.01 milliseconds per interrupt transfer. I suppose this is a reasonable data rate for this device (though I don't really know).

In order to use my WinUSB solution, I created a WinUSB device driver installer using the libusbK Info Wizard, then installed the WinUSB driver. After doing so, the device manager reports the driver for my gamepad device as 'winusb.sys', along with several other drivers in the stack. With this driver in place, I can access the device data using the WinUsb_ functions in Win32. Oddly, using this solution I get back the gamepad data at an average rate of around 3 to 4 milliseconds per interrupt transfer, a couple of orders of magnitude slower than using the HIDAPI solution.